Elderberry Ice Cream

I love elderberry ice cream – elderberry anything really.

The other day as I was looking for something in the freezer I found a couple bags of frozen elderberries … ice cream!

I am working on the perfect elderberry “frozen amazement” recipe – haven’t found it yet … but in searching I try different things.

Before I try the recipes I need to prepare the elderberries …

First I put the elderberries in a crock pot and pour in enough water to cover the berries – turn it on low and let it cook for several hours. Then put a cloth in a colander and pour the berries & water in.  I wrap the berries in the cloth & hang it overnight to let the juice drain out. I then give the elderberries to the goats (they love them!) and put the gorgeous liquid “amazement” in a jar.

I have one recipe for elderberry gelato that a friend gave me – thought I would try that one first.

2 cups elderberry liquid (juice)

3/4 cup sugar

1 Tblsp lemon juice

1 Tblsp vodka

2 cups  heavy cream

 

I  also thought I would try one which is more like ice cream.  I followed a general Ben & Jerry’s ice cream recipe.

2 cups elderberry juice

2 eggs (although I added 3 .. not sure why – just thought I would try it)

3/4 cup sugar

2 cups heavy cream

1 cup milk

1 Tblsp lemon juice

 

I made both recipes and wanted to see if I could tell the difference with adding the egg (that was the major difference – aside from more dairy in the ice cream recipe).

I didn’t really notice much difference = couldn’t tell I was eating one with egg or not.

 

I have decided that what I really crave is more of an elderberry sorbet something that I can eat with vanilla ice cream ….I like combining the two in a bowl.

A friend of mine has let me borrow his amazing ice cream maker (for the winter anyway) – so while I still have it I will continue my search for the perfect elderberry frozen amazement!

I will keep you posted (there are still a few bags left in the freezer….) for another time!!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

2 Comments

Filed under food

2 responses to “Elderberry Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

