Tallulah – matriarch of the herd

Tallulah was one of my original goats – she is the mother of many of my remaining goats & my long time friend.  She isn’t feeling very well these days & I am beginning the process of “letting go”.  I brought her a treat today – fresh fruit & vegetables with some strawberry jam … SHE LOVED IT!

IMG_4656

There are many aspects of farming that are difficult – this being one of them.  Finding something wrong with a goat, trying to figure out what the problem is, treating them (in my case homeopathically & herbally and then as a last resort I usually “throw the kitchen sink” at them … ) Usually by the kitchen sink stage things have gotten pretty bad & in most cases they don’t make it.  Now mind you there have been more times that not that the first approach works – but there are the times when they don’t – this feels like on of those times.

IMG_4651

Her eyes still seem bright & she hobbles over to me when I come in to the barn.

IMG_4648

She absolutely loves banana peels!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

